My special number

When I was 22 years old, I told myself “I’m going to be at my peak once I reach 27”. It became my motivation to reach my best; I wanted to be physically beautiful and successful at the same time. It was coming out of a broken heart and jealousy. 3 years after, I met Jesus Christ. Having found my identity in Him, the idea of being my best self at 27 became an afterthought and sometimes a running joke between me and my friends. I still wanted to be at my best but this time, it was coming out of a healed heart and basically, I just wanted to take better care of myself. I looked forward to the day I’m going to reach 27 just to see if I’ll turn into the woman I was imagining to be.

Now, here I am.

IMG_4810.JPG

Am I at my best? NO. 

Am I successful? Not yet. 

Am I physically fit? I’m trying. 

Is this where I am supposed to be? Definitely.

Many are the plans in a person’s heart, but it is the LORD’s purpose that prevails. Proverbs 19:21

For years I held onto the idea of my ideal self but I know what truly matters now : being God’s best for His glory. I thank God for the pruning, for all the seasons of waiting, disappointments, the mountains, uprooting, convictions, and blessings. I’d like to believe that this is the peak that God wants for me. Having Him in my life is the best gift my 22-year old self can give my present self. I am excited to see what God has prepared for me in the years to come!

To end this, here’s a video of my friends surprising me.

Happy 27, self ❤

Leave a Reply

