Faith to live by

Faith to Live By

This book was given to me as  a Christmas present last 2015. I actually read it when I was in Hamburg last year and re-read it when I was in queue for my passport renewal last week. This is one of those books that you have read over and over again; gaining new perspective in the process.

The impact is strong this time, probably because I am in the season where I really have to exercise my faith and work hard in doing it. This book contains insights on what faith is, why we need it, how it grows, and putting our faith into action. What’s also great about this book is  that it won’t drown you with scholarly information but it lives up to its line, “A practical guide to the life of faith”.

This book is also  a gentle reminder of the true purpose of having faith. It is not for my own encouragement or a fuel to sustain my journey but for the purpose of pleasing God and giving Him honor.

 And without faith it is impossible to please God, because anyone who comes to him must believe that he exists and that he rewards those who earnestly seek him.

Hebrews 6:11 NIV

When we love someone, we do our best to show how much we love them too. We serve and please them the best way we know how.In the same way, our faith is a manifestation of our love for God. It is not about me and my own personal desires but it is all about loving Him who loved us when we were unlovable. Faith is indeed a gift we don’t deserve and unlike any gift, we should nurture it because it is given by God.

I have to stop sharing now because I might be taking too much from the book, haha. I hope you’d get the chance to read this book and maybe we can share insights too once you’ve finished it.

PS: If you are in the season of waiting like me, I also recommend this video before or after reading this book

Leave a Reply

