Lent Reflections : Easter Sunday

Lent Reflections

Read

1 Corinthians 15

Reflect

Two years ago, I got a text message from my uncle telling me that my grandmother passed away. I knew it was coming since my Lola had a tough battle with cancer but still, it was indescribable when the inevitable meets you straight in the face. I was home alone that dawn; I remembered I couldn’t think straight.I walked out of my room and sat outside with the security guard. I guess at that time, I desperately needed a companion. Not that I talked to the guard, I just want to see someone other than the dark. I was carrying my bible at that  moment and I prayed to God these words, “Lord, did my Lola surrender to You? Where is she now?” God answered my question with 1 Corinthians 15. It was very comforting and reassuring. Death had no power over my Lola, God had and has. As you can see, 1 Corinthians 15 holds a special place in my heart because of this event. Now, imagine how emotional I got when the Pastor preached 1 Corinthians 15 this afternoon.

If we don’t believe in the power of resurrection, then our faith is futile. Now, what does it mean to truly believe in the resurrection? 

To believe in the power of resurrection is to live victoriously and free from the sin that so easily entangles, to break free from its bondage. It is putting our sins to death and being made alive in Christ. It is never fearing death for death is inevitable but eternal life is imperishable. One day, I’m going to meet my Creator just as my Lola did and thinking about it now scares me but thank God for His perfect love for driving out this fear. Believing in the resurrection gives us the gift of eternal life and that small minute of fearing for death is incomparable to what’s coming ahead. Our time here on earth is just a short stop compared to the eternity Jesus has prepared for us.

Jesus is no longer in the tomb, He has risen! Until now, we can feel His presence in the million of lives which goes to show that the God we serve is not a dead god, but A LIVING GOD. He is alive in us!

Respond

Thank you, Abba Father, for giving us your one and only son, Jesus Christ. Thank you, Jesus Christ, for the gift of salvation and eternal life. One day I’m going to meet you face to face and I hope I’ll hear the words, “Well done, my good and faithful servant”. But until then, I will decide everyday to choose You more than anything else; to remind myself of your sacrifice, to obey your commands, to love you, and to believe in the power of resurrection. Through you, Jesus, I am no longer dead to my sins. Because of you, I am victorious conqueror. Thank you Jesus for making all things new. Today I honor and give all the praise to a living God. In the mighty name of Jesus, Amen.

Listen

PS:

Thank you very much for visiting my Lent Devotionals this week. I’m glad to be able to share Jesus with you and know yours as well. God bless you 🙂

Leave a Reply

