Lent Reflections : Black Saturday

Smith & Sons

Read

Mark 14, 15, 16

Reflect

The woman broke her jar of a very expensive perfume and poured it on Jesus’ head. The jar was broken into pieces, with no possibility of reusing or replacing the perfume. A few verses later, Jesus broke the bread, His body, into pieces and offered it to us just so we could live an eternal life; free from the bondage of our sins.

The woman gave us an image of what a life surrendered to Jesus Christ looks like. We give our all, leaving nothing behind. We don’t keep anything for safety measures. The world may equate surrendering to defeat but in God’s eyes, surrendering means victory. Jesus giving up his life on the cross is the greatest victory mankind has ever experienced. Admittedly, I am in a process of laying  my everything to Jesus Christ; my control, my desires, my future plans. It won’t be hard as long as I keep my eyes focused on Jesus Christ and remind myself daily that He gave his life for me.

Let me end my reflection with this question, “Are we willing to break down our personal jars and offer it to Jesus Christ?”

Respond

Lord Jesus Christ, you surrendered your life to us so we can have an eternal life with You. Allow us to do the same for you. Give us the grace to surrender our all; the strength to break down our personal jars and offer it to you. We want to surrender to You because we love you. We want to surrender because we want to know You. We want to surrender because we want to give you all the control. Be the King in my life, Jesus Christ. Take control. To You, I surrender. Amen.

Listen

Leave a Reply

