Lent Reflections : Good Friday

LENT REFLECTIONS

Read

Luke 21-22

Reflect

Jesus Christ knew he was going to die an extremely painful death and his response was very simple, to pray to the Father. Before being taken away by the guards in the garden of Gethsemane, Jesus commanded his disciples to pray, so that they (you) will not fall into temptation (Luke 22:40). Jesus’ parting words to his disciples that night is an image to what our prayer life should be like. When I became a Christian, my prayer life went from nothing to everything. However, there are also times when I haven’t been praying enough—meaning, I wasn’t praying sincerely as I should be. I was praying like a pagan. I thank the Holy Spirit for the conviction because I can immediately get back up, repent, and pray to my Father in Heaven.

Luke 22:40 is a great reminder that we should always be on our guard and pray. The enemy is waiting for every open opportunity that we fall into temptation and we will not let the enemy get his way. During his darkest days, Jesus Christ prayed and let this be our inspiration to never let a day pass without praying to the Father. As we bow our knees in prayer, we get a glimpse of Heaven. As we humble ourselves and pray, we see our Lord Jesus Christ.

Response

Thank you Jesus for teaching us how to pray and the importance of prayer. May I always be on my guard and remain standing firm on the faith you have given me. Lord Jesus Christ, today Your image of praying on the garden hours before your suffering will give me the strength and the motivation to persevere and to keep on walking. I pray today with my whole being; I bow my knees and look to You. In your mighty name. Amen.

Listen

 

Leave a Reply

