Lent Reflections: Maundy Thursday

LENT REFLECTIONS

Read

John 18, 19, 20 & 21

Reflect

I am a big fan of  US series. Every now and then, I go on a binge-watch especially the ones on Netflix (i.e Narcos, House of Cards) or if I have to catch up (i.e Mr. Robot, Sherlock). I’m a pretty responsive viewer, might I add. The way I watch my television series transcends to my Bible-reading habit. I catch myself saying, “OH NO!” “WHAT!” “WHAAAAAT?!” and “AWWWWs” each time I read exciting stories in the Bible—the passion, death, and resurrection of Christ is one of them. What separates the Bible from my TV series is of course, the Bible is my identity. My history is recorded in those pages.

When I think of what happened to Jesus two thousand years ago, I sometimes imagine myself being in the shoes of his disciple. What could I have done if I was in there position? Would I have deny Him, too? Would I hide? Would I be strong enough to stand up for Jesus? Would I believe when Jesus said He would rise in three days? I don’t know what I could have done but I always take comfort in the fact that Jesus did all these things so I wouldn’t do anything more. 

Then Jesus told him, “Because you have seen me, you have believed; blessed are those who have seen and yet have believed.” (John 20: 29) I may not be there to witness what happened two thousand years ago but I have the Bible; it’s my only passage to the event that changed history and my life’s story. Some may question the authenticity of the Bible but I am a proof, along with the billions of people around the world. We are His witnesses. We have not seen, we have read, we have felt and we believe. What a great story. 

Respond

Jesus, thank you for sharing your story. Yours is the greatest one ever told. Allow us to be Your witnesses here on Earth. Help us to be bold enough to share the wonderful message of the Gospel. May we not live in fear and in doubt but move in truth, in love, and in faith. Amen.

Listen

Leave a Reply

