Lent Reflections : Holy Wednesday

LENT REFLECTIONS

Read 

John 17

Reflect

Ever heard of Carl Sagan’s Pale Blue Dot? Simply put, Earth is just a tiny, lonely, blue dot in the vast universe. We are considered mere specks living in this dot. But that’s Carl Sagan. For Jesus, we are much more than a dot. We are too important that He even died in our place.

During Jesus’ last days on Earth, He prayed to the Father on our behalf. His prayer is a mirror to how Jesus sees us. We belong to the Father (John 17:6), we have been chosen to be His witnesses for God’s glory (John 17:21), and we are one with Him (John 17:23). If the world thinks that we are just a speck, Jesus sees us as His everything. He is thinking of us all the time, even to the point of death. When I was starting to have a relationship with Jesus, I used to question my identity. What am I here for? What is my purpose? Who am I? Why me, Lord? The answers I’ve been looking for were right in front of me. I look around and all I can see are His creations. The sky, the food, the house, the animals, the air.. me. I belong to Christ. My identity is in Christ. The reason why I can enjoy this life I have is because someone died on the cross thousands of years ago… and that changes everything. We are more than a speck in this tiny blue dot. We belong to a big God who made this same vast universe so to consider ourselves as a speck is an insult to His greatness. We are His.

Respond

Jesus, my mind cannot fathom your greatness and your love for us… me, a sinner. During your last days on Earth, you thought of me. You interceded for us. Thank you Jesus for showing and teaching me who I really am. My identity is in You. You are my God, my Savior, and everything that I am is in You. Amen.

Listen

Leave a Reply

