2 books, 1 week

Listen and you’ll understand

There’s a huge stack of unread books sitting on my shelf and it has been there for a long time now, a year to be exact. I may have lost my interest in reading during the past year; I couldn’t point out the reason why. This week, I had the urge to read and I immediately picked some books on my pile (plus one on my iBook) before my mood leaves me again. I must have missed reading since I finished two books in one week. Great comeback, right?

1 of 2 : The Girl on the Train by Paula Hawkins

I only have an epub version of this book and I regret every single digital page turn. This book is for-the-lack-of-better-word freaking nuts. If not for work and my German class (also sleeping), I would’ve finish this book in a day and a half. I was literally willing my eyes to stay open and awake even if my whole mind says otherwise. For two days, I woke up with a heavy head just because I was up reading it. That’s how good it is.

They were going to turn this a movie (no surprise there) and I checked the cast prior to reading it, which made it easy for me to visualize the whole thing. I think they got the almost-perfect cast. You can check more info here:

2 of 2 : Playlist for the Dead by Michelle Falkoff

So, you are supposed to listen to a track to set the chapter’s mood. Right off the bat, what an interesting material! It got my attention because of this unique “strategy” however, the story isn’t my cup of tea. Don’t get me wrong, it was good and well-written, even a reminiscent of Perks of Being A Wallflower. BUT I am not actually fond of high school characters in books, YA generally; although there are some exceptions. Nevertheless, it was a good cool-down after reading Girl on the Train.

My personal saving grace has to be music references and I have to give it to the author; she chose the best ones. Coldplay was mentioned too, not in the light I want but s’all good. Ikumpara ba naman sa Radiohead! Pano na, haha.

I look forward to finishing the pile of books I have…. and eventually, buy new ones to stack up. 😉

 

Leave a Reply

