Dare to Believe : Prayer & Fasting 2016

I go through fasting from time to time especially if I feel that my spiritual antenna is weakening; all because of my laziness, disobedience, and getting caught up with my worries. I fast because I want to be in tune with God’s voice and when I have to pray for a specific leading. Let me tell you, fasting really works! It is foolproof & not only because of the breakthroughs and answered prayers that came out of fasting (which happens) but more simply because God says so.

“So I turned to the Lord God and pleaded with him in prayer and petition, in fasting, and in sackcloth and ashes”

Daniel 9:3, NIV

This time though, I fasted together with thousands of people. Victory’s fasting period happens twice a year : at the beginning of the year (5-day fast) & during the middle (3-day fast). I usually join the mid-year fasting because circumstances have blocked me from joining the “first” fasting. Fortunately this year, I was able to complete my 5-day fast. Thank you, Jesus!

Surprisingly, this fasting never gave me a hard time in comparison to my previous fasts. I looked back at my faith goals last year and realized that all of my prayers have been answered! Some that I’ve already forgotten that I’ve prayed for but were crucial.

Untitled design
Excuse my handwriting

I am glad for these breakthroughs but more than anything, I am thankful for the pruning and the building of my character. When I decided to know Jesus more last year, all the burden have been lifted off of my shoulder and I began to see a greater purpose which is bigger than my own understanding.

This year on the other hand, I am praying bold prayers. This 5-day fast gave me so much encouragement and audacious faith to stand on the promises of God. I am believing for greater things! My visa? Yes in Christ Jesus! Household salvation? AMEN AND AMEN! Chains be broken in Jesus’ name. This generation, the next, the future generation and even up to the last will bow down to name of Jesus Christ!

Yesterday, the Lord even gave me the impression that I already have His promises in my hand—all I have to do is to obey in faith and spread His gospel. I even dreamed that God was telling me that He holds my future and I only have to be concerned with what’s happening now. Tomorrow is HIS. 

Today I am ending my fasting period but not my journey in seeking Jesus more. I will continue to walk in His ways and put Him first & above all. By His grace, I know magagawa ko yun. 

To end, let me share you two verses which gave me a lot of hope as I fasted.

“Our God, will you not judge them? For we have no power to face this vast army that is attacking us. We do not know what to do, but our eyes are on you.”

2 Chronicles 20:12

18 Against all hope, Abraham in hope believed and so became the father of many nations, just as it had been said to him, “So shall your offspring be.” 19 Without weakening in his faith, he faced the fact that his body was as good as dead—since he was about a hundred years old—and that Sarah’s womb was also dead. 2Yet he did not waver through unbelief regarding the promise of God, but was strengthened in his faith and gave glory to God, 21 being fully persuaded that God had power to do what he had promised.

Romans 4:18-21, NIV

 

Leave a Reply

