Mini-dramatic turn of events

I woke up on the right side of the bed today.

I was up even before my alarm clock went off. I had a quick cardio & my work started late which gave me more time for my devotional and Bible reading. 

It was one of those usual, peaceful mornings but unfortunately, the world found its way to ruin a good day.

I had two bad classes, one impatient student, a home crisis, a plan gone wrong, and a misunderstood friend. My patience and understanding are being put to the test once again; sadly, I let it get the best of me. Mind you, these things happened even before lunchtime. The day was just beginning.

I looked to the Bible placed on my bed and read through what I saw that very morning.

“13 Moses answered the people, “Do not be afraid. Stand firm and you will see the deliverance the Lord will bring you today. The Egyptians you see today you will never see again. 14 The Lord will fight for you; you need only to be still.”

Exodus 14:13-14

I recited it over and over again. I remembered my prayers that morning, “Lord, today I know you’re going to show me something incredible. I can feel it. I claim your promise TODAY.”. But by the looks of it.. nope. Not gonna happen.

I was left with two options : to continue sulking or just move on and accept the fact that bad days are bad days. I was so tempted to choose the first option but I just let out a huge sigh and chose the latter.

I was having a bad day but it doesn’t mean I have to feel bad all day long. I just have to accept that things are not turning out the way I want it to be. I am not okay, and it’s okay. 

What I’m going to tell you next sounds dramatic but I don’t want to leave this scene out… I locked myself in the bathroom and I cried.  I felt I have to cry out to God, to tell Him that I wasn’t doing great. I didn’t cry that long, of course, because God doesn’t want me to. I was wired to be joyful, I guess. So I went out of the room, continued with my day, and worked. This late afternoon, however, God wanted to show-off.

Remember the verse I read this morning? Where Moses promised God’s deliverance to the Israelites? Where he told everyone to be still because God is fighting for them? Where I believed that something incredible is going to happen today? Well..

God did what He promised.

I checked my mail this afternoon and was surprised to find out that the Federal Foreign Office replied to my query & told me that my papers are already in the final stages of reviewing.

Technically speaking, this can go both ways but for me, this short update is already a big deal. For more than five months, I’ve been asking for a response. Big or small, I’m just asking for a response. I want clarity. God choose today, of all days, to show me a glimpse of His promise. Just last week, I promised God I would seek Him first more than anything and this is what I get.

What an amazing God.

What an incredible turn of events. 

Thank you, Jesus.

I really did woke up on the right side of the bed today and I’m sleeping on it tonight as well.

Goodnight. Be still; God is fighting for you.

 

Leave a Reply

