The Raw Shark Texts

 

12334499_10153830426354312_412697819_o
I have this book sitting at my bookcase for more than a year already; a gift from my previous boss. Apparently, she saw this book on my “Book Wishlist” and decided to give it as a Christmas present. Coincidentally, she had this book just lying around as well.

I used to read a lot of books until social media got in the way. I made a promise to myself last week that I will go back to reading and I started with this.

Here’s a short excerpt:

“It’s a stark thought that when we die most of us will leave behind uneaten biscuits, unused coffee, half toilet rolls, half cartons of milk in the fridge to go sour; that everyday functional things will outlive us and prove that we weren’t ready to go; that we weren’t smart or knowing or heroic; that we were just animals whose animal bodies stopped working without any sort of schedule or any consent from us.”

I would recommend this book for people who enjoy reading sci-fi/existential/technical books especially people who are psychology/English majors. Why? Better find out. Also, if I can somehow describe it in a *recipe, it will look like this:

1/2 cup Memento

1/2  cup The Matrix

1 tbsp Inception

1 pack Jaws 

1 tsp Self/less

Personally, I’m just glad to finish this book. It feels like fixing a closet; you keep promising your parents you’d do but you don’t unless you really have to.

PS:

There are several interesting illustrations you can find inside. Like this,

tumblr_nyo8jlnqwu1qasnguo1_500

Next book in line : The Girl on the Train

*not sure why I did a recipe but it is the best analogy I can think of

Leave a Reply

