(Mis)interpretation

Something has been bothering me lately. I have a pending visa application and I am tempted to make contact with some people even if I was advised not to. My anxiety grew daily and instead of listening  to God’s wisdom, I resorted to Google. Of course, “Google has all the answers” and I came across several blogs with application cases similar than mine. I got sucked deeply into this black hole I call blogs and I was badly tempted to follow what these bloggers did—even if, as I just said, *emphasis* advised not to. 

Where is God in all of these?

I always pray and ask God first. Just yesterday, I heard a small voice in my head and heart saying, “I want you to be ready”. I told myself, “YupGod is just preparing me and He wants me to be ready when the right time comes. Today, however, is a different story.

As I’ve mentioned, I became so glued to the visa-related blogs I almost threw what God told me outta window. I was thinking(or pep-talking), “Lord, maybe I can give a little push? Maybe the Embassy people forgot my papers..maybe it was included in a pile, maybe I should follow what that person did in the blog because look, he got his visa already..”  I eventually interpreted His messages for me that these blogs could be the answer. I’ve been waiting long enough and I should do something about this…

Me: So, Lord, what do you think?

…and the Lord says to Sophie,

Abraham looked up and there in a thicket he saw a ram caught by its horns. He went over and took the ram and sacrificed it as a burnt offering instead of his son. So Abraham called that place The LORD Will Provide. And to this day it is said, “On the mountain of the LORD it will be provided.”
GENESIS 22:13 – 14 [NIV]

We do not know what tomorrow holds but God does and we can be confident knowing that He goes before us and paves the way. God provided for Abraham but not without Abraham first being obedient and trusting that God knew what He was doing. It was his faith in God that helped him through the ordeal of being asked to sacrifice his only son.

We may be in desperate situations where the way out seems impossible but we can know that God will provide whatever we need to get through

Source : Hillsong Collected

It was like a splash of cold water. Abraham was fully ready to sacrifice Isaac and trusted God completely. No logical reasoning, no rational explanations. I misinterpreted His words and even believed that maybe God wants my help when in fact, He doesn’t need any.

I disclose this to my friend and she texted me this awesome message-turned-revelation

IMG_1146

IMG_1145 (Edited)

I was not misinterpreting God; I was just too stubborn to follow what God wants me to do. I wanted to act on my own even if God kept telling me to be still. Indeed, I am a work in progress. God is pruning me so when the time comes, I am ready. I am very lucky God has been so generous in giving me instructions. I just pray that I will continue to heed His voice and His alone.

PS:

If by any chance this post speaks to you, pray and talk to Jesus. Our mind may sometimes find it hard to understand what He says but trust that God is only after our own good. Easier said than done, I know, but God is the only one we can trust. 

Leave a Reply

